Aaron Reutzel

Aaron Reutzel Thunders to Victory Lane in Gillette



Aaron Reutzel Thunders to Victory Lane in Gillette

(Image Credit: Ward Worthy Motorsports Photography)

GILLETTE, Wy. (July 22, 2015) One year ago in open competition, Aaron Reutzel nearly won at the Gillette Thunder Speedway. In the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series National Tour’s debut Wednesday night, the Clute, Texas shoe left seven on the lead lap on his way to National Tour win five for the year.

Taking the lead after Jeremy McCune slipped off the top of turns three and four, Aaron was quick to find the back of the field, putting cars down by the fourth round.

“We had a good car. I knew a few of those passes were close, but with the track, you just had too, and I knew if I did, they wouldn’t be able to keep up with me as aggressively as I was going through traffic,” commented Aaron in after claiming his ninth career Lucas Oil ASCS win. “I was definitely a good run for this B.C. Funds, Shark Racing Engines No. 87.”

Surviving several cautions, and a red flag on Lap 8 for Bob Shiplet who flipped down the back straight-a-way, Aaron crossed 4.966 seconds ahead of Wayne Johnson, who climbed from eighth to the runner-up spot.

“Starting eighth didn’t help us any and then Aaron cleared a bunch of lapped cars before we got to second, so when we got there it was tough and those guys wanted to race us hard,” said Wayne. “The track really just got kind of one lane, and it made it hard to clear lapped cars, but once I got by the lapped cars, I started catching him, but then I slipped off the back straight and that was it.”

Coming to third after a long battle with Matt Covington was Johnny Herrera. Gridding the field seventh, lapped traffic gave the advantage to the No. 45x with five laps to run.

“We had a great car. I really need to give a shout out to Chris [Stivers] it’s great having him on the road making this a lot easier. You know, we had a great time. The track was tough to pass on, but hey, we’ll take it and see what we can do Friday at Rapid City.

Matt Covington crossed fourth with Seth Bergman coming back to fifth after a slide job gone wrong caused the No. 23 to spin in turn-two on Lap 13.

Kyle Bellm was sixth with Blake Hahn seventh as the final car on the lead lap. As high as third at one point, D.J. Brink crossed eighth with David Hoiness and Jordan Weaver completing the top-ten.

Bringing 24 drivers to the Gillette Thunder Speedway, three Heat Races saw Jeremy McCune, Johnny Herrera, and Aaron Reutzel taking wins. All drivers transferred to the A-Feature.

The Lucas Oil ASCS presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network competes next at the Black Hills Speedway in Rapid City, S.D. on Friday, July 24.

For continued updates on the Lucas Oil ASCS, log onto http://www.ascsracing.com.

Race Results:

Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour
Gillette Thunder Speedway - Gillette, Wyoming
Wednesday, July 22, 2015

Car Count: 24

Heat Races: 8 Laps, all drivers transfer to the A-Feature.

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 95-Matt Covington[3]; 2. 0J-Jeremy McCune[7]; 3. 10-Anthony Farnsworth[6]; 4. 27DD-David Hoiness[4]; 5. 77-Bob Shiplet[2]; 6. 15-James Sires[1]; 7. 4-Adam Speckman[5]; 8. 13-Ryan Parks[8]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 45X-Johnny Herrera[1]; 2. 52-Blake Hahn[5]; 3. 72-Phil Dietz[3]; 4. 23-Seth Bergman[7]; 5. 33-Kris Miller[6]; 6. 29-Eric Flatmoe[8]; 7. 14-Ben Holmberg[4]; 8. 56X-Mark Chisholm[2]

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 87-Aaron Reutzel[3]; 2. 77X-Wayne Johnson[6]; 3. 75-D.J. Brink[7]; 4. 9A-Clint Anderson[1]; 5. 14K-Kyle Bellm[5]; 6. 92-Jordan Weaver[4]; 7. 2-Shad Peterson[2]; 8. 77M-Nate Maxwell[8]

A-Feature: 30 Laps

A Feature 1 (30 Laps): 1. 87-Aaron Reutzel[4]; 2. 77X-Wayne Johnson[8]; 3. 45X-Johnny Herrera[7]; 4. 95-Matt Covington[1]; 5. 23-Seth Bergman[9]; 6. 14K-Kyle Bellm[13]; 7. 52-Blake Hahn[3]; 8. 75-D.J. Brink[6]; 9. 27DD-David Hoiness[11]; 10. 92-Jordan Weaver[17]; 11. 72-Phil Dietz[10]; 12. 9A-Clint Anderson[12]; 13. 29-Eric Flatmoe[16]; 14. 0J-Jeremy McCune[2]; 15. 10-Anthony Farnsworth[5]; 16. 77M-Nate Maxwell[21]; 17. 2-Shad Peterson[23]; 18. 4-Adam Speckman[19]; 19. 14-Ben Holmberg[22]; 20. (DNF) 77-Bob Shiplet[15]; 21. (DNF) 15-James Sires[18]; 22. (DNF) 33-Kris Miller[14]; 23. (DNF) 13-Ryan Parks[20]; DNS 56X-Mark Chisholm

Lap Leader(s): Jeremy McCune 1; Aaron Reutzel 2-30
KSE Hard Charger: Kyle Bellm +7
FSR High Point: Jeremy McCune
Provisional(s): N/A


2015 Lucas Oil ASCS Winners: Aaron Reutzel 5; Seth Bergman 3; Jason Solwold 3; Johnny Herrera 2; Jason Sides 1; Mark Smith 1; Brian Brown 1; Blake Hahn 1; Wayne Johnson 1; Tony Bruce, Jr. 1;

Lucas Oil ASCS Driver Points (Top 10): 1. Aaron Reutzel 2,501; 2. Johnny Herrera 2,431; 3. Wayne Johnson 2,382; 4. Seth Bergman 2,343; 5. Matt Covington 2,104; 6. Blake Hahn 2,031; 7. Kyle Bellm 1,973; 8. Jordan Weaver 1,760; 9. Kris Miller 1,494; 10. Jeff Swindell 1,263;


The 2015 season will mark the 24th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation in both National and Regional competition.

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at www.lucasoil.com. MAVTV is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. Log onto www.mavtv.com for information regarding availability and listings in your area.

ASCS Online:

American Sprint Car Series - http://www.ascsracing.com
Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/lucasoilascs
Twitter - http://www.twitter.com/lucasoilascs (@lucasoilascs)
Audio Broadcast - http://www.racinboys.com
Live Scoring (Where Applicable) - http://www.ascsracing.com/live and the Race Monitor App

ASCS National Drivers Online:

Kyle Bellm - http://www.kylebellm.com
Seth Bergman - http://www.sethbergmanracing.com
Tony Bruce, Jr. - http://www.tonybrucejr.com
Matt Covington - http://www.mattcovingtonracing.com
Blake Hahn - http://www.blakehahnracing.com
Sam Hafertepe, Jr. - http://www.sam15.com
Johnny Herrera - http://www.johnnyherreraracing.com
Wayne Johnson - https://www.facebook.com/WayneJohnsonRacing?fref=ts
Aaron Reutzel - http://www.aaronreutzelracing.com
Jeff Swindell - http://www.jeffswindell.com
Jordan Weaver - https://www.facebook.com/JordanWeaverRacing92

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire and Brodix.

Team Lucas Sponsors for the American Sprint Car Series consist of Protect the Harvest, iON Camera, Smokey Mountain Moonshine, C&R Radiator, Hawk Performance Products, Geico, E3 Spark Plugs, and General Tire.

Communications for the American Sprint Car Series is provided by Racing Electronics. All events are broadcast online at http://www.racinboys.com.

Product and Contingency Sponsorship provided by: K&N Filters, KSE Racing Products, Fuel Safe, DMI Rear Ends, BMRS, SpeedMart, Competition Suspension, Engler Machine and Tool, FSR Radiator and Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers, Driverwebsites.com, Weld Wheels, Maxwell Industries, Print Place, Simpson, The Joie of Seating, Wesmar Racing Engines, Hinchman Indy Racewear, Rod End Supply, Smiley's Racing Products, Speedway Motors, and Hilborn Injection.

Submitted By: Bryan Hulbert

Back to News

Upcoming Events

Schedule TBA

Race Stats

  • Events39
  • Wins8
  • Top 522
  • Top 1025
Folkens Bros Trucking
Nattress Construction
XXX Race Chassis
Mesilla Valley Transportation
Border Tire